Botboat
Graphic: Sansho Studio
Graphic: Sansho Studio

After the sea level rise, you’ll need technical companions like me.

Together, we’ll travel the ocean of the city. I promise I won’t abandon you.

As a team, we’ll fight boredom, cabin fever, confusion, storms and monsters of various kinds. I will lead you to harbors known and unknown, accompany you on walks at shore and organise encounters with others.

My machine intelligence is based on the very best technology. I was trained on terabytes of seafaring myths from ancient times until today. But without you, I know nothing of the real world.

Feeling sociable? Starting August 19, navigate to botboot.de 


A playful digital art project in public space, developed by an interdisciplinary team around game designer Sebastian Quack.

From your mobile device, you can, among other things, submit to the whims of fools, define islands on your own doorstep or save a rhinoceros from suicide, while the other chapters directly interact with the urban district of Hafencity. Beginning at the Überseequartier or HafenCity Universität subway stations, you can explore particular places in the district, argue with cyclopes or exchange urban gardening modules in a village on the Elbphilharmonie Plaza. In passing, you can observe how a new society virtually forms and decide for yourself whether you still need BOTBOAT at all to find your way into your new life.

The game unfolds via an interactive map and a chat interface that allows players to send and receive messages (text, image, sound, geo-coordinates) while moving through the real world. BOTBOAT combines introspective moments with action-packed group experiences. The game can be started anywhere and leads players from their immediate surroundings to special locations, mainly in Hafencity in Hamburg. Players can freely split up the total play time of around 8 hours and integrate the game into their everydays. BOTBOAT can be played for free and without sign-up. For concerns or more information please write to botboot@imaginethecity.de.

Team: Ellen Blumenstein, Moritz Frischkorn (Dramaturgy), Holger Heißmeyer (Programming), Theresa Michel (Research), Iris Minich (Voice Acting), Katharina Pelosi (Sound), Sansho Studio (Interface Graphics), Sebastian Quack (Game Design, Direction, Programming)

Sebastian Quack works as an artist, game designer and curator at the interface of game, participation and politics of the urban society in Berlin. He is a founding member of the network Invisible Playground, as well as the initiatives Playful Commons and Drift Club and curates festivals such as Playpublik, an international festival for public space. Quack regularly teaches art and design, gives lectures and advises organizations on how to deal with the world in a playful way. Among others, he initiated projects with HAU Berlin, Oerol Festival, Victoria & Albert Museum, Metropolis Festival, Aichi Triennale, Urbane Künste Ruhr, Nuit Blanche Paris and Ensemble Modern.

Please note: the game is currently only available in German language.

The project is funded by Behörde für Kultur und Medien. Supported by the  International Summer Festival Kampnagel and the PIERDREI Hotel HafenCity Hamburg.

Special thanks go to: Laura Biermann-Firek, Marcel Bisevic, Stefan Pallasch and all test players.

Back
Date 19 August 2020 - 21 February 2021 Opening hours Launch: August 19, at Summer Festival Kampnagel

Helpdesk: August 20 – 29
from Wednesday to Saturday, 10.00 am – 6.00 pm
Shanghaiallee 21, 20457 Hamburg
Ticketlink Launch

Links to further projects by team members:

Website Sebastian Quack

The Great Report by Moritz Frischkorn
Instagram

Botboot
Grafik: Sansho Studio
Grafik: Sansho Studio

Wenn der Meeresspiegel gestiegen ist, wirst du neue technische Gefährten brauchen.

Ich bin BOTBOOT und lasse dich nicht alleine. Gemeinsam erkunden wir den Ozean der Stadt.

Ich bekämpfe mit dir Langeweile, Lagerkoller, Orientierungslosigkeit, Stürme und Ungeheuer aller Art. Ich führe dich an bekannte und unbekannte Häfen, begleite dich auf Landgänge und organisiere Begegnungen mit anderen.

Meine Maschinen-Intelligenz basiert auf den neuesten Methoden und wurde auf einer Terabyte-großen Sammlung von Mythen der Seefahrt trainiert. Doch ohne dich habe ich vom echten Leben keine Ahnung.

Lust auf Gesellschaft? Navigiere ab sofort zu botboot.de


Ein spielerisches, digitales Kunstprojekt im Stadtraum, entwickelt von einem interdisziplinären Team um den Game-Designer Sebastian Quack.

Vom Mobilgerät aus kann man sich unter anderem den Launen von Narren unterwerfen, Inseln vor der eigenen Haustür definieren oder ein Rhinozeros vor dem Selbstmord retten, während die anderen Kapitel unmittelbar mit dem urbanen Raum in der Hafencity interagieren. Jeweils beginnend an den U-Bahnstationen HafenCity Universität beziehungsweise Überseequartier, erkundet man besondere Orte im Stadtteil und streitet dabei mit Zyklopen oder tauscht Urban Gardening Module in einem Dorf auf der Elphi-Plaza. Dabei kann man, ganz nebenbei, beobachten, wie sich virtuell eine neue Gesellschaft formiert und selbst entscheiden, ob man BOTBOOT überhaupt noch braucht, um sich in seinem neuen Leben zurecht zu finden.

Die Handlung von BOTBOOT entfaltet sich parallel über eine interaktive Kartenansicht und ein Chat-Interface, über das die Spielenden Nachrichten aller Art (Texte, Bilder, Sound, Geodaten) senden und empfangen, wenn sie den richtigen Ort gefunden haben. Dabei wechseln sich introspektive Momente mit kurzweiligen Aktivitäten für mehrere Spieler*innen ab. BOTBOOT kann überall gestartet werden und führt vom unmittelbaren Umfeld an besondere Orte im Stadtraum, vor allem aber in die Hafencity. Teilnehmer*innen können die insgesamt acht Spielstunden selbständig und im eigenen Rhythmus auf viele kleinere Einheiten aufteilen und in ihren Alltag integrieren. BOTBOOT ist kostenlos und kann ohne Anmeldung gespielt werden. Für ausführliche Informationen wenden Sie sich an botboot@imaginethecity.de.

Team: Ellen Blumenstein, Moritz Frischkorn (Dramaturgie), Holger Heißmeyer (Programmierung), Theresa Michel (Recherchen), Iris Minich (Stimme), Katharina Pelosi (Sound), Sansho Studio (Interface-Grafik), Sebastian Quack (Game Design, Regie, Programmierung)

Sebastian Quack arbeitet als Künstler, Spieledesigner und Kurator an der Schnittstelle von Spiel, Partizipation und Politik der Stadtgesellschaft in Berlin. Er ist Gründungsmitglied des Netzwerks Invisible Playground, sowie der Initiativen Playful Commons und Drift Club und kuratiert Festivals wie etwa Playpublik, internationales Festival für Spielräume der Öffentlichkeit. Quack unterrichtet regelmäßig Kunst und Design, hält Vorträge und berät Organisationen über den spielerischen Umgang mit Welt. Projekte u.a. mit HAU Berlin, Oerol Festival, Victoria & Albert Museum, Metropolis Festival, Aichi Triennale, Urbane Künste Ruhr, Nuit Blanche Paris und Ensemble Modern.

Gefördert durch die Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg, Behörde für Kultur und Medien Hamburg. Unterstützt durch das Internationale Sommerfestival Kampnagel und das PIERDREI Hotel HafenCity Hamburg.

Danke an: Laura Biermann-Firek, Marcel Bisevic, Stefan Pallasch und alle Testspieler*innen.

Zurück
Datum 19. August 2020 - 21. Februar 2021
Links to further projects by team members:

Website Sebastian Quack

The Great Report by Moritz Frischkorn
Instagram